Bengal to Play Against Lahore in Global T20 Namibia

Cricketers from Pakistan and India would possibly lock horns in Namibia this September. Official NOC continues to be awaited from BCCI, however the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) has launched the names of decided on avid gamers within the 16-member squad for the Global T20 Namibia event, which is alleged to be paving a preparatory floor for the Namibian avid gamers within the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifying rounds. The T20 WC is scheduled to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13, 2022.

The four-team Global T20 Namibia will likely be a nine-day event and is to be performed within the Namibian capital Windhoek from September 1 to 9. The groups are the Namibia nationwide workforce and 3 home franchises together with Momentum Multiply Titans of Cricket South Africa, Lahore Qalanders of Pakistan Super League (PSL) and Bengal of CAB.

In the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup the Namibia nationwide workforce completed fifth within the Group 2 video games after qualifying for the Super 12s. This season, the workforce is grouped with NAE, Netherlands and Sri Lanka in Round 1.

The remaining time home groups of arch-rivals India and Pakistan performed within the 2014 Champions League T20. The struggle was once between Lahore Lions and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). However, home groups from the 2 international locations performed tournaments regularly between 2006 and 2008. The successful groups of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and Ranji Trophy confronted each and every different within the four-day First-class Nissar Trophy cricket festival. The festival was once scrapped thereafter.

According to CAB joint secretary Debabrata Das, the Global T20 Namibia broadcasters invited the workforce to play within the event and a recent workforce will likely be despatched to pave the trail of establishing a brand new squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, a home T20 event for males in India.

Das added a number of younger avid gamers are acting outstandingly in native cricket within the state and this is why the board is having a look forward to sending the youths to the Namibia collection to know how the men would possibly take on the event.

Bengal Squad Full List for Global T20 Namibia Series

Abhimanyu Easwaran (c), Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Abhishek Das, Shreyansh Ghosh, Ranjot Singh Khaira, Writtick Chatterjee, Karan Lal, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shreyan Chakraborty, Abhishek Porel (wk), Suprodip Debnath (wk), Mukesh Kumar, Soumyyadip Mondal Ishan Porel, Akash Deep and Ravi Kumar. The 4 standby avid gamers come with Siddharth Singh, Debopratim Haldar, Pradipta Parmanik and Ankur Paul.

Namibia Men’s National Cricket Team

Nicknamed as Eagles, the Namibia nationwide cricket workforce is operated by way of Cricket Namibia (CN), which is an ICC affiliate member since 1992. Its ODI debut was once in 2004 and was once the third-most a hit workforce within the 2012 ICC World T20 Qualifier. It was once granted complete T20I standing in 2018 and because then has been taking part in T20 fits with different ICC participants. Its T20I debut was once towards Ghana in 2019.

Some of the most productive acting avid gamers of the workforce are Gerhard Erasmus, JJ Smit, Craig Williams, Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Bernard Scholtz, Ruben Trmpelmann and Zhivago Groenewald.

Namibia Women’s National Cricket Team

The ladies phase is nicknamed Capricorn Eagles and is arranged by way of the Namibia Cricket Board. The workforce debuted within the 2004 Africa Women’s Cricket Tournament held in Tanzania. ICC granted it the standing of complete WT20I abreast of granting the similar to all its participants. The acting avid gamers since then come with Adri van der Merwe, Yasmeen Khan, Sune Sune Wittmann, Kayleen Green, Jurriene Diergaardt, Sylvia Shihepo, and Wilka Mwatile and Victoria Hamunyela.

Cricket Association of Bengal

The Cricket Association of Bengal governs cricket within the West Bengal state of India and is headquartered in Kolkata. It organizes quite a lot of cricket tournaments in Bengal. It was once based in 1928.

Avishek Dalmiya is serving because the president whilst former Team India captain Sourav Ganguly was once president of the board from 2015 to 2019 ahead of turning into the president of BCCI.

Leave a Comment